Let’s take a break.

wpid-wp-1397611623259.jpgI mean from my story. I drove my father two hours for back surgery today. I cried when I left because I didn’t know if it would be the last time I would see him.

He has THE best neurosurgeon. ..works on Dallas Cowboys and plenty of NHL players.

A 66 year old Vietnam vet is right up there with them in my book. Number one.

I am sitting here (patiently) waiting for him to come up from recovery. He’s going to be in a lot of pain but his quality of life is going to sky rocket.

What is that? Another metaphor for my life? Wow. It literally just smacked me on the head as I sit in this cold hospital room…

My father endured years and years of pain in his lower back. Bone on bone with nerves pinched in between. They took out the broken pieces and replaced it with strong titanium mesh. He’ll be a new person….in about two weeks.

I am removing the broken and dead pieces from my life as well. The pieces that have caused me so much pain for all of these years.

Once I am strong like that titanium piece that is in my dad’s back, my quality of life with sky rocket too.

Bring it on Dr. M!

7 thoughts on “Let’s take a break.

  1. Hoping for a speedy recovery for your dad. And tell him I said Thank you for his service to our country.
    And good for you! Keep that awesome attitude. Keep your chin up and move forward into something great (easier said than done I know, but it will get better I promise). Take care of your dad and let us all know how he is when he gets back in!

    Like

  2. What a beautiful post.
    It really touched me because of another similarity in our stories: my dad has been my rock since my separation. He has basically given up his retirement to take care of my and his two grandchildren, emotionally and financially. And in January he had emergency heart surgery to remove a tumor from his heart. Same thing – best surgeon, etc. So they removed a terrible burden on his heart that was slowly killing him. And he didn’t even know it was there, or what it was doing to him.
    I’ve thought of that metaphor so much recently.
    I think you’re doing so well, compared to me 2 1/2 years ago. You’re really strong, and you write beautifully, and you’re going to be better and stronger when this is all over. I’m looking forward to reading about it as it happens.

    Like

  3. You have my best wishes for the both of you to have a strong, healthy recovery. I know it’s scary. Sounds like your dad was in great hands.
    You can both grow stronger together! His
    healing might be more physical and yours
    emotional but that’s okay. Both are so important to your overall well being. 🙂

    Like

  4. Dad is doing great! I saw the xray of his spine. Two new shiny vertebrae in his lower back. Incredible. We do, however, have to stay another night. He’s going for a walk right now, cruising with his walker and his yellow hospital gown. Thank god the nurse tied it before he took off… 😉

    Like

What do you think?

