Transitions.

download (4)We have a student with Aspberger’s in one of the 9th grade English classes that I teach. He is notoriously late for class.

Every class.

Everyday.

He misses important info at the beginning of class then gets worked up because he doesn’t know what we are doing.

Transitions are not easy for him.

If I erased his Aspberger’s, would he still be doing this? I wish I could just jump inside his mind and figure it all out.

Transitions are not easy for me, either.

I hate change. Could I just take my time moving from one phase of my life to another? Go against the rules and respond to divorce papers on my time?

I hate change. I had this idea in my head (and promised to me in our wedding day almost 8 years ago) that we would grow old together and sit in rocking chairs on the porch enjoying life once the kids were grown.

Change. I have to transition to this “new life” that is not what I had hoped for.

I would like know why this student moves at his own pace.

He must hate change too. (I know children with Autism do not like change in their routine)

Each day I wake up and realize that I am one day closer to the end of it all. Makes me queasy. Even though he threw me on this roller coaster of emotions and life changes with no protection from falling to my death, I am still sad.

I am angry at him for the extremely sefish, irresponsible, immature choices he has made for our family. I actually despise him.

But I hate change.

Anyone have a late pass that I can use on life?

6 thoughts on “Transitions.

  1. I think like the kid with Aspergers, be you. If that means you don’t conform with others, they need to deal with that not you. We know he can’t control his condition right? He can’t be someone he isn’t. Why should you try to be? Be late. Take time.
    I know, you still have to survive. That’s the thing though, someone will step up for him because it’s a recognised condition (rightly so). Someone should step up for you too so you can do what you need.
    Take care!

    Like

  2. If you find that pass can you make a copy of it and pass it this way!!!! I can’t do change either, especially when it comes to a relationship that perhaps you thought would last forever, until death do you part. I know exactly how you feel. Keep your head up! I look forward to reading more about your story!

    Like

What do you think?

