October 8th: Expectations

Couldn’t have said it better…

Daily Divorce Meditations

I had many expectations during my marriage and I had many expectations during my separation and divorce.

During my marriage, I expected all of my positive actions to produce the outcome I desired: a loving and healthy marriage.

This, however, did not happen.

During my separation, I expected that all of my positive actions, particularly… marriage counseling… would lead to reconciliation.

This also… did not happen: we inevitably divorced.

I was so attached to my expectations that when things didn’t happen on my time schedule, or go in the way I imagined them to go… I would become fearful and frustrated: so afraid that my desired outcome would not manifest.

But what if my desired outcome was not in my best interest?

What if there was a bigger picture that I was unable to see while I was so bound up in fear?

Now I know that if I detach…

View original post 107 more words

What do you think?

